vs manual ecu

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:44 pm

Hi guys
What ECU/PCM do i need to convert a vs auto with ecotec to a manual

i have a 672 in the car and a 424 kicking about along with a few 808's
i have a uv box and a burner just not sure what ecu and bin i need to be looking at

User avatar
Posts: 10089
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby Holden202T » Sun Jun 12, 2011 9:39 am

this should answer all your questions:

http://pcmhacking.net/memcals.html

Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:17 am

so my only option is to get a 16199728 ecu ??

or will the 808 with the sxr mod work ok if i go back to a MAP sensor

User avatar
Posts: 10089
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby Holden202T » Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:37 am

you can use the 808 option but there is a bit more to it than just adding a map sensor.

you need to change the coolant temp sensor to be the vn-vr one this requires a fitting adaptor etc, also need to use a vn/vp v6 wiring loom and there are some minor wiring re-routing changes to do with that.

then i think from memory one of the plugs is different were it plugs into the car .....

if you do use that option there is a tune i made in the $12P custom tunes area which is a pretty good basic tune for ecotec with map sensor to get it going.

Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:03 am

so the only plug and play option is the is the 728 ecu

the rewire would not be a problem just not wanting to be tuning
am wanting to drop a stock bin on a chip and drive

there is a 728 pcm on ebay if thats the ecu i need i will click the buy now

User avatar
Posts: 4991
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: Perth, WA

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby VL400 » Sun Jun 12, 2011 1:48 pm

Just make sure its a manual PCM .. viewtopic.php?f=7&t=501&p=6023&hilit=728#p6023

Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Sun Jun 12, 2011 2:31 pm

VL400 wrote:Just make sure its a manual PCM .. viewtopic.php?f=7&t=501&p=6023&hilit=728#p6023


i was just reading that and its not its a auto
so not all 728's have the bits for the manual vss

Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Sun Jun 12, 2011 2:41 pm

is it as easy as adding these few bit and the few changes to the wiring
Image

User avatar
Posts: 4991
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: Perth, WA

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby VL400 » Sun Jun 12, 2011 4:25 pm

Yeah AFAIK its just the different speed sensor types that differentiate between manual or auto PCMs so could add the missing parts, not sure on component values though and my VS PCMs are all auto ones. Auto uses a reluctor sensor while the manual T5 is hall effect. The Getrag box is a reluctor so should work on a Auto PCM.

Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Sun Jun 12, 2011 7:55 pm

this thread http://delcohacking.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=501&hilit=16199728
shows what the values of the parts are but i cant find if its ever been confirmed
to work or if the values are right

Next

Return to Holden ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests