vs manual ecu

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:11 pm

With a bit more reading I come to ask is it possible to mod a 672
pcm it the same way or dose it need to be a 728

If I can what would be the best bins to use
728 or 396
?

Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:20 pm

hope im not bugging you guys bumping my thread but i have been doing my home work
when i picked up my gearbox and bits today i had the chance to look at a VT PCM.
going by the numbers on the resistors we have

(cap ?) (4322=43.2k)
(cap ?)
(1002=10k)

Image

looking at the pic above of my modded 672 pcm you will see the parts in yellow are the bits added
and the bits in red are where i stole them from on a spare 672 that i got chucked in for free today

and i was able to track pin D2 back to the 10k resistor so its looking good on that front as well

now when i open up the BSTK bin in TP5 is the only thing i need to do is check the manual flag
under the options flags and burn it to a chip
or will i need to uncheck any of the auto stuff


thanks for your patience and help this far
the info on this site has been a big help

User avatar
Posts: 4991
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: Perth, WA

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby VL400 » Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:29 pm

Far from bugging us, this is great info :thumbup:

I would prob just use the BSTJ manual bin or BWLS for a later $51C bin.

Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Mon Jun 20, 2011 1:33 pm

So the $51C bins for the 728 should work or will work

I might try one tonight after making the changes to the wiring for the manual VSS and see If I can get a log with the VSS working being spun by a drill or somthing

Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:57 pm

Ok bit of a update
everything is in and for the most part working
Speedo is working so I know the VSS is working
I changed the wire over to D2 but i am still getting code 94.

So I don't know what way to go now

User avatar
Posts: 4991
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: Perth, WA

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby VL400 » Mon Jun 27, 2011 9:21 pm

Logged the PCM to see what the VSS is doing?

Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:35 pm

i have one but it is all out of wack
log & adx.zip
log & adx
(13.31 KiB) Downloaded 219 times


it was like that before the change as well
but i only just worked out how to edit the adx and change
echo settings :shock:

Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:58 pm

i got a 2nd log tonight that made sense
as i expected nothing on the VSS

so there is still a missing piece to the puzzle

User avatar
Posts: 4991
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: Perth, WA

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby VL400 » Thu Jun 30, 2011 5:33 am

Have started to trace the VSS circuit and it looks like there might be a diode missing (right on the other side of the board to where the components are that you have added, next to the existing diode there is an unpoplated spot). It will either be a zener to clamp the voltage or a regular diode to block negative voltages. U5 pin 6 is where the signal ends up and from a quick test looks like it then goes from pin 1 to pin 48 of U13. Will test it properly later and see if I can get the PCM showing a VSS signal.

Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:46 am

I had found that as well and it has been added but still no change

PreviousNext

Return to Holden ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests