vs manual ecu

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:41 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby djbrooksy » Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:03 pm

just to add to that it is the 672 pcm running a 728 bin

the 728 works fine on the bench as well

Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 3:38 pm

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby Sweet_Wagon » Sat Jun 02, 2012 3:53 pm

Hi,

Just new on here doing some research on my pcm when i get this motor running after rebuild.

Setup is as follows :
VS Wagon
L67
T5 manual
Ecotec engine harness and PCM which i reprogrammed with an L67 tune

It was running ok like this but had all the symptoms of no VSS signal, Ive checked the boards on my 2 PCM's here, 16199728 & 16210672 but neither seem to have the extra components pictured above.

The VT PCM pictured earlier had the extra bit's needed correct? Can I just use a VT PCM instead?

Otherwise can anybody perform the required changes above to the standard one in the sydney area?

Cheers,

Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:43 pm

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby 5lvl » Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:18 pm

will this work with a 424 ecu?

Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:11 am

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby garth1976 » Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:17 am

Sorry to revive an old thread.
will the mod work for the 424 with T5?
Or has anyone tackled the T5 to 424?
Which bin would you use for 424 with T5?
thanks in advance

Posts: 3217
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby Dylan » Wed Jul 22, 2015 12:19 pm

To run a T5 speed signal on a 424 you would need to convert the signal from sine wave to square wave.
The auto trans fault codes can be masked in the auto tunes.

User avatar
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:59 am
Location: North Coast, NSW

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby Jayme » Wed Jul 22, 2015 1:20 pm

but when converting to T5 with a 424 PCM, you can bypass the ecu, and run the T5 speed sensor direct to the dashboard and it will work! the dash uses square wave signal in all commodores....

User avatar
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 6:50 pm

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby hsv08 » Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:28 pm

So can anybody confirm if a vt pcm will run a vs l67 tune with a T5? there were yes and no in this thread of it being able to handle the t5 signal

Posts: 484
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:57 pm
Location: perth wa

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby vs ss » Tue Nov 10, 2015 3:30 pm

Yes a vt pcm can run a square wave signal.

No you can't run a vs tune in a vt pcm.

User avatar
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 6:50 pm

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby hsv08 » Wed Nov 11, 2015 10:04 am

So what would be the best option here. i have a friend with a vr. running a l67 and vs loom with a t5. it currently has a 672 pcm in it and i have just burnt a memcal with the VS_V6_SC_$51_Enhanced_v1.0d bin with vats removed and manual flag ticked.
I also have a vt v6 396 pcm sitting here. could i burn a VT_V6_SC_$A5G_Enhanced_v1.3b bin with vats removed and manual flag ticked and use that on the vs motor and loom?
If not how much difference is in the vs loom compared to vt.
Basically with the the current setup now he will have a running car but no vss signal due to the the T5 and not having a 728 pcm

User avatar
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:48 am

Re: vs manual ecu

Postby ralcool » Wed Nov 11, 2015 12:03 pm

I'd use the vs loom. Can't confirm if a vt ecu will run vs code.. they look identical to me tho

In the end you just want an engine that works. It a shame its a lottery if the ecu has all the missing parts for the T5.

But you will need to change the timing map in the tune man, ticking the flags isn't enough.

Luckily the vs_v6_sc_ehanced tune is by far the most detailed xdf I've seen. My tweaked tune work probably be perfect for him.

I've tried running without the vss and all the difference seemed to be the stalling after deceleration as has been reported elsewhere.
The car otherwise ran the l67 tune find in the spare '728.

Just not sure if to post the modified 'the1's enhanced vs code here or someplace sanctioned in the forum.

cheers

PreviousNext

Return to Holden ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests