New to ECU Modifacations

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
benk
cars: VN V6 Commodore

New to ECU Modifacations

Post by benk »

Hi all

I need some help on reprograming an eprom.
I have an off road racing buggy that I have transplanted with a Series 1 VN V6. What I want to do is eventualy twin turbo it. I already have the mechanical side sorted and am looking into the electronic side
I am completely new to this "electronic tunning" (have built and tuned plenty of carby engines) I have been fixing these type of cars since the early 90's and have a fair knowlege of everything under the bonnet and how they work. I have spent the last few days reading various forums how to tune the ECU an have decided to give it a go myself. I will be doing it in stages starting with fitting a 2 bar MAP sensor to the standard engine and get it running with that
I have downloaded Tunerpro and a few standard bin files for the VN to have a look at. I supose to start with, should I stick with the standard program from the VN (I think that it is $5D) and start modifying it or is the a better version to modify? I don't realy want change any wiring at this stage.

Thanks Ben
antus
Site Admin
cars: TX Gemini 2L Twincam
TX Gemini SR20 18psi
Datsun 1200 Ute
Subaru Blitzen '06 EZ30 4th gen, 3.0R Spec B

Re: New to ECU Modifacations

Post by antus »

Yeah, you'll need a bin that supports boost. There is a dodgy $5D (i think?) around that has 2 bar support hacked in to the original bin, but the table really needs to be extended to support boost. VL400 has done this, and you'll find a bin called OSE12P with many extra features and proper support boost in this thread here: https://pcmhacking.net/forums/view ... f=27&t=356