Continuous use Wideband O2 Sensor

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
User avatar
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:29 pm
Location: Adelaide

Continuous use Wideband O2 Sensor

Postby hoopstar » Wed Nov 14, 2018 2:08 pm

Hi Chaps

I'm running a VR V8 Auto (424) with a few minor mods (Comp, TP dual plane manifold, extractors...) in what will be my daily driver (VK Calais).

Is it possible to run (on a continuous basis) a Bosch LSU 4.9 wideband O2 sensor with something like a Spartan Lambda controller and use the 'simulated narrowband' output in place of the factory O2 sensor and keep the ECU happy?

Does the wideband sensors last as long as their narrowband brothers?

Image

Cheers in advance

User avatar
Posts: 6547
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: Continuous use Wideband O2 Sensor

Postby vlad01 » Wed Nov 14, 2018 2:15 pm

yep, they are good for 100,000k +

I have one car permanent and it's great.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

User avatar
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:29 pm
Location: Adelaide

Re: Continuous use Wideband O2 Sensor

Postby hoopstar » Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:57 pm

So the "simulated narrowband output" from the Spartan is exactly the same as the factory O2 sensor and it won't cause any running issues?

User avatar
Posts: 6547
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: Continuous use Wideband O2 Sensor

Postby vlad01 » Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:15 pm

With these 14point7 kits, yes they are bang on in my case. I run both simulated and WB and the data looks no different from a real NB.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

User avatar
Posts: 5231
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: Continuous use Wideband O2 Sensor

Postby delcowizzid » Wed Nov 14, 2018 7:03 pm

I've never had any wideband work as good as a narrowband or at all lol run 1 of each and save yourself the hassle its a $9 Bing away from sorted lol
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

User avatar
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:29 pm
Location: Adelaide

Re: Continuous use Wideband O2 Sensor

Postby hoopstar » Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:42 am

delcowizzid wrote:save yourself the hassle its a $9 Bing away from sorted lol

Probably good advice.!!

Where is the best location for a single, wideband 'V8' sensor?

User avatar
Posts: 5231
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: Continuous use Wideband O2 Sensor

Postby delcowizzid » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:24 pm

I just fit a bung in each side of the y pipe so I can check both banks separately if needed
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 6:36 pm

Re: Continuous use Wideband O2 Sensor

Postby RVK355 » Fri Apr 03, 2020 6:47 pm

Is it worth doing a 4 wire o2 sensor conversion, I somewhat remember that was abit of a thing a few years ago that some people would do!!

User avatar
Posts: 6547
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: Continuous use Wideband O2 Sensor

Postby vlad01 » Fri Apr 03, 2020 7:14 pm

For extractors it's a must, under light loads a 2 wire cools off too much as they are too far from the engine to get enough heat and they stop working. So a heated 4 wire is a must.

I had nothing but issues with 2 wire on my pacemakers so I installed a VS 4 wire type O2 and the issues went away. I was getting code 13 all the time on the 2 wire in cruise conditions.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 6:36 pm

Re: Continuous use Wideband O2 Sensor

Postby RVK355 » Fri Apr 03, 2020 7:36 pm

vlad01 wrote:For extractors it's a must, under light loads a 2 wire cools off too much as they are too far from the engine to get enough heat and they stop working. So a heated 4 wire is a must.

I had nothing but issues with 2 wire on my pacemakers so I installed a VS 4 wire type O2 and the issues went away. I was getting code 13 all the time on the 2 wire in cruise conditions.



that is something that I somewhat remember was one of the reasons, also quicker heat up time and overall better o2 readings when in closed loop operation. I will start sourcing the parts needed to do this

Next

Return to Holden ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests