Brand new to it all, ALDL cable spitting out garbage.

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
rawrs
cars: 2004 VY II Calais

Brand new to it all, ALDL cable spitting out garbage.

Post by rawrs »

Hey guys,

I am brand new to ECUs, and even scan tools. I ordered an ALDL scan tool off eBay, the USB version, because I didn't feel like waiting for the cheaper RS-232 cable to show up, I needed this cable like right now. This is that cable.

Now what is happening, is that the cable is talking to the car, in fact at one stage the CEL set, and the traction turned off, so the cable is doing *something*. But the data being pulled from the cable is complete garbage, as if there is an incorrect profile loaded into the software or something. I really have very little idea what I am doing but it seems like this is what's happening. It's just spitting out pure garbage, gauges are all over the shop and giving meaningless readings, just, nothing is right.

I have followed the attached guide to the letter (apparently), to no avail.

As far as versions of software I am using, as of yesterday, it appears I am running the latest version of everything, that is TunerPro and the USB-RS232 transceiver driver, which is a CH340C. A chip I've never heard of, but apparently Arduino Nanos use it, so whatever.

Attached are the files I am using to try and make this all work, including the instructions that came with my ALDL cable, and a disassembly of the ALDL cable itself, just for reference more than anything, in case anyone else ever finds this thread useful.

I'll also add that what I am looking for in the first place, is that after a couple of weeks of sitting, my car has developed a somewhat bad miss/ignition retard under certain, specific loads, and I really would like to try and figure out what the hell it is before I go and throw parts at it. Not helped is the fact that I'm trying to move house while all this is going on!