Kalmaker to Tunerpro. for Newby

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
malrv1
cars: R Series Valiant with EFI

Kalmaker to Tunerpro. for Newby

Post by malrv1 »

Hello all this is my first post and I am very new to this so please be gentle with me. :)

I have a 1962 R Series Valiant running a 225 Slant Six. Quite a few years ago I converted it to efi using V6 Commodore parts including the Delco 808. At the time I had Alan Gibbs from Kalmaker rewrote a memcal for me to run this engine. I then had a friend in Adelaide do a dyno tune and burn a chip for me. I have running this setup ever since.

I do not have any Kalmaker hardware apart from the modified memcal which has a removable chip. I have a few different tunes on different chips.
20191115_182801.jpg
The time has come to move on from Kalmaker as I have fitted a new engine with different can, head, manifold etc and it needs another tune.

I am very confused now as to what I need to be able to program the ecu myself. I have looked a Tunerpro and it looks good.

The problem is I am really confused as what hardware I need to run it? Ostrich 2 ? G6 adapter. etc?

Will I be able to use the tune I have now as base?

Help :?
Dylan
cars: VR Commodore V8

Re: Kalmaker to Tunerpro. for Newby

Post by Dylan »

Its all possile mate, keep reading through the forums. Specifically on our custom code named 12P. That's what you will want to run.
j_ds_au

Post by j_ds_au »

Any idea what that 20 pin chip does? The factory memcal doesn't have an extra chip. Is it to lock the code somehow? If so, you may need to replace the memcal to use 12P ... not sure.

Joe.
malrv1

Post by malrv1 »

Thanks for your replies. I have been reading and reading I have downloaded Tunerpro RT and had a play with that.

However I am really out of my depth here. Is there anyone near Gippsland who would be willing to have a go at this or someone I can come and see??

The 20 pin chip is the knock sensor driver. I think.
j_ds_au