Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby Stag76 » Wed Oct 21, 2020 7:18 pm

Thanks for that.

Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby Stag76 » Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:37 pm

Still on the wiring in my EcoTec engined Triumph TR7.

I've connected the Plug 3 (Grey) Orange wire to 12V Battery (Permanent live),
and the Plug 3 (Grey) Pink wire to Ignition Switched 12V.

Are there any more Ignition Switched 12v supplies for the PCM?
Last edited by Stag76 on Wed Dec 23, 2020 6:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Posts: 6839
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby vlad01 » Wed Dec 23, 2020 1:06 pm

The switch is always mounted on the sifter in the cabin on those.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby Stag76 » Wed Dec 23, 2020 6:06 pm

:?
I'm looking to see if I've got all the 12v Ignition Switched PCM supplies hooked up.

User avatar
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby 'quipt4it » Sat Dec 26, 2020 8:30 am

Hi Stag76,
Is this still just a check list, or have you been attempting to start

Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby Stag76 » Sat Dec 26, 2020 4:09 pm

Still a check list.

Hope to try a start in the next week or so.

Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby Stag76 » Mon Jan 04, 2021 7:05 pm

Got the engine running OK.
The only issue I have so far is that the cooling fan starts approx 5-10 seconds after the engine starts
and runs continuously, even though everything is cold.
I've tried disconnecting the coolant temp sensor in case it was permanently grounding, but it made no change.
I'm using the Blue/White wire from engine loom connecting plug 1 to ground the relay.
Does this sound like the correct wiring?
I can always fit another switch to drive it.

Posts: 3215
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby Dylan » Mon Jan 04, 2021 7:30 pm

Usually a sign of a corrupted eprom

User avatar
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby 'quipt4it » Mon Jan 04, 2021 8:15 pm

Any codes?
Are you using memcal or NVRAM.
Does the 'system check' 12 CEL flash work.
Good effort to get it up and running :driving:

Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:57 pm
Location: perth wa

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby vs ss » Mon Jan 04, 2021 9:13 pm

It’s been a long time since I done a conversion with one of these pcm, but from memory you have to disable the low speed fan without a bcm. I think if the pcm picks up no bcm it will automatically turn on the high speed fan cause it thinks the bcm has a fault therefore the low speed might not work.
This is trying to shake the grey matter though.

PreviousNext

Return to Holden ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests