NVRAM Issues

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
1979project
cars: vb commodore turbo 202 soon to be turbo v6, vx s l67

NVRAM Issues

Post by 1979project »

Hi Guys,

I am having issues With My Nvram I have been using for the Past 6 years.
A few months back it was playing up. So I ordered a new Dallas DS1245y chip. it turned out to be a copy so I ordered another off Element 14 (this one got put on backorder).
In the end I got one though Digikey. It is genuine built on the 20th week 2022. I have loaded a burnt a fresh copy of 11p onboard but cannot connect to it with tp or the flash tool if I start the engine the fan comes on instantly.
If I us a memcal it connects straight away and runs perfect.

Things I have tried.

Spare ecu with write wire installed.
Using it with a memcal and off the Jumpers.
Checked resistors and capacitors on the board.
Used 2 different aldl usb cables both connect fine with the memcal in place just not with the nvram.
checked connection from the socket for the ds1245y on the board right through to the ecu board pin with the nvram in place.
verified the file on the ds1245y using HxD and the file matched.
Downloaded a fresh copy of 11p.

Is there any common issues that I am missing here? every now and then a relay flickers while the fuel pump is priming sounds like a bad connection. (everything functions fine with memcal in place)
Do you think there could be a chance the new DS1245y is no good?
Is anyone available to take a look and repair if I send it? happy to pay I just want to get it sorted.

Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks, Josh
antus
Site Admin
cars: TX Gemini 2L Twincam
TX Gemini SR20 18psi
Datsun 1200 Ute
Subaru Blitzen '06 EZ30 4th gen, 3.0R Spec B

Re: NVRAM Issues

Post by antus »