VIN Only Flash on 411/LS1 PCM Options?

American GM ECUs and PCMs
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:56 pm

VIN Only Flash on 411/LS1 PCM Options?

Postby jahajazz » Sun Jun 11, 2017 8:44 am

Hello,

I'm looking to be able to change the VIN on a 411 running an LT1 in a 1996 Camaro. I would like to make sure it matches the VIN on the car for a smoother trip through emissions. I've got HP Tuners, but their subscription model prevents VINs that do not match the OS. Are there any cheap ways to be able to change only the VIN?

The cheapest option would seem to be Antus's tool with the ATV 852 cable. Outside of that, it's either EFI Live, Tech II or sending the PCM to someone for a change. It only seems if I send it out, HP Tuners will probably lock me out of editing it again (or I might be able to just upload calibrations. I'm not sure if this is changed in the current versions?).

Any options I'm not aware of for a VIN only edit on a 411/LS1 PCM?

Thanks,
Jahajazz

Posts: 3088
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: VIN Only Flash on 411/LS1 PCM Options?

Postby Dylan » Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:56 am

Antus tool will do that and you could then use the ADX from here for logging too. Not sure you will be able to edit using HOY if the VIN doesn't match your late model BIN, I could be wrong there.

Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:56 pm

Re: VIN Only Flash on 411/LS1 PCM Options?

Postby jahajazz » Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:23 am

So it looks like Antus's tool with the ATV852 is my best option?

Thank you,
Jahajazz

Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 1:04 pm

Re: VIN Only Flash on 411/LS1 PCM Options?

Postby lccreech » Mon Jul 09, 2018 1:46 am

I'm missing a step or something. I can program a new VIN into the 12200411 with Antus's tool and the atv 852 cable. But.. it doesn't stick. It's there as long as I don't cycle power. I powers cycle and the old VIN is back. It's useful only as far as I don't burn another license with my tuner software.

Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 1:04 pm

Re: VIN Only Flash on 411/LS1 PCM Options?

Postby lccreech » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:21 am

I figured it out. On the bench I had wired the ignition to power. It needs to be switched separately before powering off in order for the write to occur.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5357
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: VIN Only Flash on 411/LS1 PCM Options?

Postby antus » Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:51 pm

you can use an obddiag.net allpro usb adapter and compiler and use pcmhammer to change vin for about $35usd.

Its not finished and we havnt released the flash kernel yet but it'll still change vin without that. Make sure you get the usb version of the allpro, and with firmware 1.21 or above. They should all have at least that now but older second hand ones may be too old. If your handy with a soldering iron you could use a dev board with your own usb interface too. Additionally scantool mx and J2534 devices will work with it too.

http://www.obddiag.net/allpro.html
https://github.com/LegacyNsfw/PcmHacks/ ... /PcmHammer
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: VIN Only Flash on 411/LS1 PCM Options?

Postby NSFW » Thu Oct 25, 2018 3:00 pm

This app is now available in pre-built form.
https://github.com/LegacyNsfw/PcmHacks/ ... /PcmHammer

Posts: 25
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 8:36 am

Re: VIN Only Flash on 411/LS1 PCM Options?

Postby beyerch » Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:34 pm

We threw an app together and used VIN changes as our first item to change... might work for you. Have not added CAN support, yet. (got busy with work) Will be supporting a lot of other things besides just VINs, that was just an easy thing to start with.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... PVIN&hl=en

Return to US GM ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest