Tune Chevy Camaro with Aussie $12P, NVRAM, & Comms

American Delco GM ECUs and PCMs, ALDL, OBD 1.5.
redcamaro

Tune Chevy Camaro with Aussie $12P, NVRAM, & Comms

Post by redcamaro »

I'm a newbie, and this is my first post on delcohacking. Yay! :punk:

I'm having a bit of trouble getting started... and finding the right information, so it was suggested I start a thread so everyone can benefit

I have recently rebuilt an 87 Camaro 305 TPI 700R4 2.73:1 mild/medium cam... the stock ECU is 1227165 with MAF and an ABUT PROM ($32B code).

It was a given that the stock tune (ECU) would need to be modified. The stock setup will not run unless timing is advanced by 12˚ the stock advance should be 6˚. It runs okay with the stock Memcal, but it's not optimal. I know it can be a lot better...

Originally, I intended to swap out the MAF for a MAP and acquired a 1227730 ECU, and a 1 bar MAP sensor. During the process I heard about the NVRAM board (from VL400) that you're using on the Holden 808, so for now I'm staying with the 165.

The NVRAM is properly installed (with the write wire). The DS1245 has $12P code (BCLF) on it. The stacked bin was easiest to use for starters.

MAP sensor installed using +5V "C" (C14) reference and GND "A" (A11) from the TPS, and MAP signal from "B" goes to C11. The MAF sensor wiring is still in place for the moment.

The 165 has an external knock sensor (ESC), and the stock signal wire goes to B7, and $12P has the knock sensor on B11. Can't run off the stock Memcal and 12P at the same time so a jumper wire is added between pins B7 and B11 (easy to revert to the stock setup, at least until the upgrade is completed).

:wall: PROBLEM: I'm not sure, but it seems that the BCLF tune is too far out to get the (modified Chevy) engine running. It starts momentarily without any (Netres), just $12P BCLF and the NVRAM board. It coughs and splutters, and it will not idle. I've tried changing the timing advance of the distributor.