is this possible? copy and save oem cals

American Delco GM ECUs and PCMs, ALDL, OBD 1.5.
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:27 am

is this possible? copy and save oem cals

Postby gmtech825 » Wed Mar 01, 2017 10:53 pm

hey there,

I'm a GM tech and I'm looking for information about copying and re-flashing the software that comes in gm ecu's from the factory. I don't mean the software that is in a vehicle that has been programmed fully. I just mean the software that is in the module when it comes from the parts department.

we used to be able program a module to one vehicle and take it back out and program it to another. now once it's programmed it learns the VIN and it's useless on any other vehicle.

I have zero custom tuning experience, and some very minor experience with C++. I have an MDI, Mongoose cable, ELM 327, and access to Tis2Web.

is it possible to copy the default software, program the module, then flash it back to the default software?

thanks

Posts: 421
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Castlemaine, Vic

Re: is this possible? copy and save oem cals

Postby pman92 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 6:57 am

I'm not 100% sure as I've never done it, but I thought you could re use the modules (in VE at least), but you have to de-link it while it is still in the original vehicle before you remove it and fit it to a new vehicle and then link it into the new vehicle?
VR-VY Holden BCM Simulator: LINK
Ford Smartlock Bypass Module: LINK

Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:27 am

Re: is this possible? copy and save oem cals

Postby gmtech825 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 10:36 pm

pman92 wrote:I'm not 100% sure as I've never done it, but I thought you could re use the modules (in VE at least), but you have to de-link it while it is still in the original vehicle before you remove it and fit it to a new vehicle and then link it into the new vehicle?



I'm even too green to understand this... what is VE and how do I de-link a module???

User avatar
Posts: 10089
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: is this possible? copy and save oem cals

Postby Holden202T » Fri Mar 03, 2017 12:40 pm

VE = Commodore!

Posts: 665
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 5:48 pm

Re: is this possible? copy and save oem cals

Postby MAGP » Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:59 pm

Holden202T wrote:VE = Commodore!

also Pontiac G8

Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:27 am

Re: is this possible? copy and save oem cals

Postby gmtech825 » Thu Mar 09, 2017 6:54 am

Still looking for help on this. any direction, FAQ, or forum that might help?

User avatar
Posts: 2214
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:37 pm
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Vic

Re: is this possible? copy and save oem cals

Postby Gareth » Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:38 am

we used to be able program a module to one vehicle and take it back out and program it to another. now once it's programmed it learns the VIN and it's useless on any other vehicle.


What vehicles/PCM's are you referring to? As far as Im aware, you can still program a new PCM to a GM Vehicle, de-link the immobiliser and change the vin to suit the new car with MDI and tis. You won't find much on this subject anywhere and if you do, let me know :thumbup:
According to chemistry, alcohol is a solution...

Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:27 am

Re: is this possible? copy and save oem cals

Postby gmtech825 » Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:52 am

Biggvl wrote:
we used to be able program a module to one vehicle and take it back out and program it to another. now once it's programmed it learns the VIN and it's useless on any other vehicle.


What vehicles/PCM's are you referring to? As far as Im aware, you can still program a new PCM to a GM Vehicle, de-link the immobiliser and change the vin to suit the new car with MDI and tis. You won't find much on this subject anywhere and if you do, let me know :thumbup:


This particular vehicle is a 2015 k1500. it programs with tis but other modules set identifier errors(security dtc's) because it has already been assigned another vin. I could try to go the route of changing the vin instead but I figured it would be easier to just try and revert it to the base software. Tis doesn't clear the vin out so I need a way around that.

User avatar
Posts: 2214
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:37 pm
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Vic

Re: is this possible? copy and save oem cals

Postby Gareth » Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:55 am

What is the PCM service number?
According to chemistry, alcohol is a solution...

Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:27 am

Re: is this possible? copy and save oem cals

Postby gmtech825 » Thu Mar 09, 2017 8:04 am

Biggvl wrote:What is the PCM service number?


12676230

Next

Return to US ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests