VX / VY Flash ECU - Simulating running conditions on bench?

Information and discussion of EFI hardware and specifications
User avatar
Chr0m3
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:25 pm
cars: 2004 V6 VY Series 2
Contact:

Re: VX / VY Flash ECU - Simulating running conditions on bench?

Post by Chr0m3 »

pman92 wrote: Tue Jun 04, 2024 9:02 pm Also, confirm the ref signal is going into pin B9.
And the signal generator or whatever your using is grounded to the same ground as the PCM and B10.

VX Flash ECU Wiring.png
Yep exactly that setup, still nada haha.

I had B9 hooked up to signal, signal ground hooked up to B10, however the generator wouldn't technically be hooked to the same ground as the PCM.

I am new to all this, it's possible something isn't setup correctly there, I'll double check thanks.
pman92
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:50 pm
cars: HZ One Tonner
VE Ute
Location: Castlemaine, Vic

Re: VX / VY Flash ECU - Simulating running conditions on bench?

Post by pman92 »

I would loop B10 and join it to the PCM ground as well. The signal ground is pretty close to power ground in the real world. Might not make any difference, but who knows.

I would check the signal with a scope if you have one.
I'm not sure what your using to generate the signal, but if its something with only an open collector output, and its normally the ignition module providing the 5v pullup on the REF wire, then you might not have any signal at all.

What are you using to generate the signal?
VR-VY Holden BCM Simulator: View Post
MrModule.com.au
User avatar
antus
Site Admin
Posts: 8299
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm
cars: TX Gemini 2L Twincam
TX Gemini SR20 18psi
Datsun 1200 Ute
Subaru Blitzen '06 EZ30 4th gen, 3.0R Spec B
Contact:

Re: VX / VY Flash ECU - Simulating running conditions on bench?

Post by antus »

I repeated your test on my bench with the same results. TP5 with Enhanced 0.9 ADX to log. 10, 50, 100, 500 hz at 50%, on B9, B10. I think maybe the PCM needs more grounds connected for more of it to work internally than when we're just flashing. Just a thought.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: http://pcmhacking.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396
User avatar
Chr0m3
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:25 pm
cars: 2004 V6 VY Series 2
Contact:

Re: VX / VY Flash ECU - Simulating running conditions on bench?

Post by Chr0m3 »

pman92 wrote: Tue Jun 04, 2024 10:03 pm I would loop B10 and join it to the PCM ground as well. The signal ground is pretty close to power ground in the real world. Might not make any difference, but who knows.

I would check the signal with a scope if you have one.
I'm not sure what your using to generate the signal, but if its something with only an open collector output, and its normally the ignition module providing the 5v pullup on the REF wire, then you might not have any signal at all.

What are you using to generate the signal?
I'm using a hantek lab oscilloscope specifically the DSO2D15 to generate the signal.

antus wrote: Tue Jun 04, 2024 10:43 pm I repeated your test on my bench with the same results. TP5 with Enhanced 0.9 ADX to log. 10, 50, 100, 500 hz at 50%, on B9, B10. I think maybe the PCM needs more grounds connected for more of it to work internally than when we're just flashing. Just a thought.
Thanks, it's good to confirm that it's not only me haha.
User avatar
Chr0m3
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:25 pm
cars: 2004 V6 VY Series 2
Contact:

Re: VX / VY Flash ECU - Simulating running conditions on bench?

Post by Chr0m3 »

pman92 wrote: Tue Jun 04, 2024 8:56 pm
Chr0m3 wrote: Tue Jun 04, 2024 8:52 pm Good point, should of mentioned I did try a variety of frequencies lower and higher haha no matter what I did nothing changed.

Didn't think it'd be right but I was just trying to get literally anything from it.
Are you checking for injector pulse?
Or EST signal?
Or data logging to see RPM?

Haven't forgot to turn VATS off if your just checking injector pulse?
Sorry only just seen this, vats is off and passing and I'm logging RPM right now, the RPM is calculated by the 3x to my understanding so should see something.
User avatar
Chr0m3
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:25 pm
cars: 2004 V6 VY Series 2
Contact:

Re: VX / VY Flash ECU - Simulating running conditions on bench?

Post by Chr0m3 »

Bit of an update, I have now tried with all ecu grounds hooked up to power supply (including 3x ground), then put the scope ground on the main PSU ground and set it to square wave, amplitude 5v, tried 0-100 hz and nothing still unfortunately..

Ignition etc is on (can write to an ecu in this setup no issue), no vats on ecu as well.

I'm logging RPM through tuner pro, just hoping to see that change, but nothing.

Not sure what else it wants to see at this point.

Keep in mind, I'm only trying to get it "running" enough for it to deliver spark for some testing I'm doing, I have also checked live data on scan tool and 3x isn't detected at all so really not sure.
pman92
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:50 pm
cars: HZ One Tonner
VE Ute
Location: Castlemaine, Vic

Re: VX / VY Flash ECU - Simulating running conditions on bench?

Post by pman92 »

I'm certain I've had one setup to check there's injector pulse after reflashing with VATS off at some point.
I'll have a look if I get some time on the weekend, and see if I can get it working and what signals it requires.
VR-VY Holden BCM Simulator: View Post
MrModule.com.au
User avatar
Chr0m3
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:25 pm
cars: 2004 V6 VY Series 2
Contact:

Re: VX / VY Flash ECU - Simulating running conditions on bench?

Post by Chr0m3 »

pman92 wrote: Tue Jun 18, 2024 10:12 pm I'm certain I've had one setup to check there's injector pulse after reflashing with VATS off at some point.
I'll have a look if I get some time on the weekend, and see if I can get it working and what signals it requires.
That would be much appreciated, this will hopefully help me speed up my spark cut rev limiter testing.
Post Reply