wideband- needs pull up resistor removed ?

Tuning The Delco In Realtime
Charlescrown
Posts: 1841
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:58 am
cars: V8 VR Commodore BT1
LB Lancer 2L turbo & Delco
Starion TBI with Delco
Mitsubishi Lancer EVO4 track car
NA MX5
3 vintage motor bikes
Location: Padstow NSW

Re: wideband- needs pull up resistor removed ?

Post by Charlescrown »

Just for your info you should be measuring the bad earths as a voltage drop when the circuit is operating. Ohms is very misleading and inaccurate way of doing it.
Jaso74
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2023 3:36 pm
cars: VR Commodore ute 304 auto

Re: wideband- needs pull up resistor removed ?

Post by Jaso74 »

VTXU8 - Yep wire from terminal 6 on Spartan lite box to D8 on ecu .
Antus- Yeah it doesn't sound correct and I will recheck again . I don't think it needs to be earthed at ecu ground but will recheck .
Charlescrown- Yes I know , bad habbit really isn't it . I will volt drop it and see if something is wrong .

Thanks guys , will recheck everything again .
Jaso74
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2023 3:36 pm
cars: VR Commodore ute 304 auto

Re: wideband- needs pull up resistor removed ?

Post by Jaso74 »

Ok , voltage drops done , all good.
Confirm correct pin D8 on ecu , confirm wire to ecu from Spartan pin 6 on control unit good .
Back out ecu pin/socket that I fitted for D8 connection . Ok looks a little stretched , not good . drag tested female socket on pins of ecu, crap very very loose !
Looks real hard inside of socket and can see some sort of left over bug or wasp or something deep in socket ! Cleaned, re-tensioned socket and confirm fit on ecu pins drag test good ! Cleaned out with pin what ever was in there. Refitted , all good now have live analog signal in TP5 !!!

Far out that done my head in a bit .
The socket I used for making the new connection was out of a spare loom I had , I just pinched the socket with a small 80mm piece of wire from a same colour in donor loom but didn't really look at it very hard , stupid mistake I guess !

Oh well , thanks heaps for the help and tips as usual , cheers guys .
User avatar
vlad01
Posts: 7862
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
cars: VP I S
VP I executive
VP II executive
VP II executive #2
VR II executive
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: wideband- needs pull up resistor removed ?

Post by vlad01 »

You literally had a bug in your system :lol:
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.
Jaso74
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2023 3:36 pm
cars: VR Commodore ute 304 auto

Re: wideband- needs pull up resistor removed ?

Post by Jaso74 »

Yes , yes I did hahahhaa.
User avatar
RalphusGalkinsmelter
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2024 3:52 pm
cars: 1992 Ln106 running a 5L 304
2013 Amarok
Location: Brisbane

Re: wideband- needs pull up resistor removed ?

Post by RalphusGalkinsmelter »

Just digging this one up again. I ended up buying the Spartan 3 wideband and getting a mate to weld another o2 bug in on Wednesday. Just in preparation i pulled my ECU apart and tried to locate the pull up resistor (if or when i need to launch it), but the board on the FAQ looks different to mine (424 auto). Just wondering if you remember Jaso74 which one you took out?

One from the thread
Pull up resistor.jpg
Pull up resistor.jpg (448.66 KiB) Viewed 601 times

My 424 auto board
424 auto board.png
The grass might be greener on the other side, until you land in a patch of bindis.
User avatar
antus
Site Admin
Posts: 8374
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm
cars: TX Gemini 2L Twincam
TX Gemini SR20 18psi
Datsun 1200 Ute
Subaru Blitzen '06 EZ30 4th gen, 3.0R Spec B
Contact:

Re: wideband- needs pull up resistor removed ?

Post by antus »

That does not look right to me. From the OSE11P PDF (in the zip file with bin/xdf/adx) its this 1k resistor.
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-06-24 130538.png
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: http://pcmhacking.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396
User avatar
antus
Site Admin
Posts: 8374
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm
cars: TX Gemini 2L Twincam
TX Gemini SR20 18psi
Datsun 1200 Ute
Subaru Blitzen '06 EZ30 4th gen, 3.0R Spec B
Contact:

Re: wideband- needs pull up resistor removed ?

Post by antus »

I think that other picture - and I could be wrong - might be part or the whole modification to change the VSS input so that it can read a T5 manual? I am sure its not wideband and removing it might break auto VSS or something else.
Edit T5 change is here, so its not that. I cant figure out where the first picture came from. viewtopic.php?p=15740#p15740
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: http://pcmhacking.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396
User avatar
RalphusGalkinsmelter
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2024 3:52 pm
cars: 1992 Ln106 running a 5L 304
2013 Amarok
Location: Brisbane

Re: wideband- needs pull up resistor removed ?

Post by RalphusGalkinsmelter »

Im a flog mate, i was looking at one for 12P on this thread
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=356&p=47237#p47237

What a helmet
The grass might be greener on the other side, until you land in a patch of bindis.
Post Reply