GM Reverse Engineering

160 And 8192 Baud Aldl
User avatar
Tazzi
Posts: 3456
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
cars: VE SS Ute
Location: WA
Contact:

Re: TECH2 Logging

Post by Tazzi »

antus wrote:This is from an 04 VY SS Sandman (ute body):
Cheers antus, exactly what Im after!.

Simple comparison between the two responses using the tech2 should give good results.
Got an old unit out the shed, havnt got the pin although dont think Ill need it to grab its tables and write back to the radio. Also have my cars old speakers so will hook up all four and see what happens when changing different things.

Im thinking that if a sedan's tables are simply written to a utes radio that it will enable the rear speakers or vise versa to disable.

On simple inspection, can see that the code index values are different between the two, Sedan has index of 7 whereas ute has 9.
So then comparing table 3 from the ute with the code index 9 that I wrote using the tech2 is pretty much identical.

I also did notice that when the tech2 was writing.. it was writing to table 1.. yet table 3 bytes match perfectly?.. except the ending additional 3 bytes of the frame (in green). Wouldnt imagine the tech2 was getting it wrong but will find out.

Tech2: EB, 6C, C, 1, 0, 0, 9, 0, 2, 1A, 0, 3F, 4, 0, 0, 59, AB, FF, 1, 15, 56, 0, 2, 3, 0, C0
Ute: EB, 69, 1, 3, 0, 0, 9, 0, 1, 1A, 0, 3F, 4, 0, 0, 59, AB, FF, 1, 15, 56, 0, D2,
Sedan: EB, 69, 1, 3, 0, 0, 7, 0, 1, 1A, FF, 3F, 0, 0, 0, 59, AB, FF, 1, 15, 56, 0, D9,
Your Local Aussie Reverse Engineer
Contact for Software/Hardware development and Reverse Engineering
Site:https://www.envyouscustoms.com
Mob:+61406 140 726
Image
User avatar
Tazzi
Posts: 3456
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
cars: VE SS Ute
Location: WA
Contact:

Re: TECH2 Logging

Post by Tazzi »

Turns out the pin code isnt simple stored in the main tables.
May need a seed/key before another table is available or other actions can be performed. :thumbdown:

So the only way to get a radio's pin (from a different car) is to use holden with the original cars VIN number... which is saved into the radio. Or if the radios original car is available, can look the pin up via the bcm security tables. Unfortunately the pin is not automatically updated to the bcm as soon as the radio is plugged in, seems it only does once a valid pincode is entered. :hmm:
Or can use the blaupunkt radio specialist guy on the web which can grab the cars radio pin for $5 using the serial number ontop of the radio.

Also with a bit of messing around using both the sedan and utes radio configs, that changing the code index changes a few different components thus it writes new info that matches that of the ute or sedan depending which index is chosen eg 7 ot 9. So Id say the code index is more of a choice of preconfigured settings.

Iv also been amused by this youtube vid.. I mentioned it before:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... EOu_YCPF60

Iv noticed that the bloke does alot of radio modifications and has played with the stock radio a fair bit. So I figured it has been parroting frames back to the cluster to get it to show messages,volume,radio station ect.

When the radio is connected and on radio station.. it continuously broadcasts: B9, 58, 2, 9, 0, E4,
If volume is increased it sends this: B9, 5C, 2, 9, 0, 0, 93, 6, C, 3B,
So the volume was 12 (0C) and it was the 6th(06) action done since car was on.
If volume increased to 14: B9, 5C, 2, 9, 0, 0, 93, 8, E, 37,

Changing stations produced this: B9, 61, 2, 9, 0, 0, A2, 3C, 32, 31, 30, 34, 35, 0, 1,
(think that was fm 104.5 which is in green). And the radio station is A2... changing to A1 changes to CD and A0 changes it to Tape (displays little logo's for all of them!).

Changing to cd fired off: B9, 5D, 2, 9, 0, 0, 9F, 41, 1, 3, FB, Which I figure mean change to CD.. last used was track 3
but it changed the reoccuring frame to B9, 58, 2, 1, 0, EC,

Changing track to 4 sent: B9, 5D, 2, 1, 0, 0, 9F, 42, 1, 4, 1,
then track 5: B9, 5D, 2, 1, 0, 0, 9F, 43, 1, 5, FF,
then track 6: B9, 5D, 2, 1, 0, 0, 9F, 44, 1, 6, FD,

So sending any of the above frames through the car displays the corresponding values on the clusters lcd sceen..

So with that in mind.. when looking at the youtube vid.. he has:
"VY IPOD KIT
NOW PLAYING PLAYING..
MADONNA - LIKE A"
This is 11 characters on top, 22 middle and 16 bottom (assuming spaces between dash)
Making a total of 49 bytes.. so the message sent off to the cluster must be greater then 49bytes.. so fairly large.
Im guessing random stabs in the dark at frames to send wont work.. and im assuming that its a single frame sent.
The tech2 also picks up the "MDF screen display" which I think means the cluster since thats the only message broacasted.. Guess sending different responses back to that may work? Until it picks up somthing it likes?

I think Byte 7 is the "option" byte since changing that changes it from affecting volume, station,tape.

Anyone else got any ideas or see any sort of method in the madness?
Your Local Aussie Reverse Engineer
Contact for Software/Hardware development and Reverse Engineering
Site:https://www.envyouscustoms.com
Mob:+61406 140 726
Image
User avatar
antus
Site Admin
Posts: 8273
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm
cars: TX Gemini 2L Twincam
TX Gemini SR20 18psi
Datsun 1200 Ute
Subaru Blitzen '06 EZ30 4th gen, 3.0R Spec B
Contact:

Re: TECH2 Logging

Post by antus »

a value 0, 1 or 2 for line to write, and 3 smaller packets?

B9, 61, 2, 9, 0, 0, A2, 3C, .....
32 = 2 (line?)
31 =1
30 = 0
34 = 4
35 = 5
.....0, 1,

something like that anyway. Perhaps mode 2 after the 61 near the start means line 2, and 3C 32 means "<2" which might mean put the decimal place 2 from the right. It does display the frequency, right?
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: http://pcmhacking.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396
User avatar
Holden202T
Posts: 10328
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW
Contact:

Re: TECH2 Logging

Post by Holden202T »

yeah i know the VZ Does.
User avatar
Tazzi
Posts: 3456
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
cars: VE SS Ute
Location: WA
Contact:

Re: TECH2 Logging

Post by Tazzi »

Yeah it does display the radio station frequency on vy's, its in the bottom left corner of the screen so its not in the middle main screen unfortunately.

I think it was fm2 that the radio was on.. so was leaning towards the 32 being the "2" in fm2 although havnt tested that out yet.
Your Local Aussie Reverse Engineer
Contact for Software/Hardware development and Reverse Engineering
Site:https://www.envyouscustoms.com
Mob:+61406 140 726
Image
User avatar
Tazzi
Posts: 3456
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
cars: VE SS Ute
Location: WA
Contact:

Re: TECH2 Logging

Post by Tazzi »

Since Im too lazy to try every possible combination of the frame/length ect, going to attempt to just "brute force" all combinations. eg.
B9, 5C, 2, 9, 0, 0, 93, ect
B9, 5C, 2, 9, 0, 0, 94, ect,
B9, 5D, 2, 9, 0, 0, 93, ect
B9, 5D, 2, 9, 0, 0, 94, ect
Just coding up something to spam the requests... guessing intervals of about 50 - 100ms would be enough. Hopefully should just be able to watch the screen and see if anything fancy happens to the cluster or the tech2 mdf message. More of a hit and miss then a logical approach.

Also was thinking that when the radio first power ups, it checks the vin number stored in the radio to that of the car, Id assume that if I rewrote the VIN number to that of my car/another, it wouldnt request the pin no more. Possible work around? But I think once the "pin request" has been lodged..it needs the pin regardless if the vin matches.
Tried asking holden for the pin code using the vin number in the radio... 1st place said I cant prove the cars vin number is to that radio without proof of the car.. *sigh*
Second place requested $60 for 10seconds of work. Also $150 to plug the tech2 in to get my bcm security code... love how the tech2 doesnt tell you that info. Again its 10sec of work to look it up on there system *end of rant*
Your Local Aussie Reverse Engineer
Contact for Software/Hardware development and Reverse Engineering
Site:https://www.envyouscustoms.com
Mob:+61406 140 726
Image
User avatar
antus
Site Admin
Posts: 8273
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm
cars: TX Gemini 2L Twincam
TX Gemini SR20 18psi
Datsun 1200 Ute
Subaru Blitzen '06 EZ30 4th gen, 3.0R Spec B
Contact:

Re: TECH2 Logging

Post by antus »

why change the length byte?

I'd start with B9, 61, 2, 9, 0, 0, A2, 3C, 32, 31, 30, 34, 35, 0, 1,
and add an extra ascii byte after the 1045 and let the flash tool create the checksum.. and if that works then play with other numbers one at a time to see if you can shift the row.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: http://pcmhacking.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396
User avatar
VL400
Posts: 4991
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 2:54 pm
cars: VL Calais and Toyota Landcruiser. Plus some toys :)
Location: Perth, WA
Contact:

Re: TECH2 Logging

Post by VL400 »

Tried some..
B9, 5D, 2, 9, 0, 0, 9F, 41, ,CD#, Track#



B9, 61, 2, 9, 0, 0, A2, 3C, 32, 31, 30, 34, 35, 0

A2 = FM2 (A0=tape, A1 = FM1, A3=AM, A4=FMASM, A5=Radio, A6=voice in, A7=insert disc A8=remove disc)
3C = ?
32 = Preset 2
31,30,34,35 = 104.5
0=if you want two decimals for the freq, 31 gives xxx.x1 MHz


And some more...

B9, 5C, 2, 9, 0, 0, <Task>, 1, 1

Task
93 = Volume
94 = Bass
95 = Treble
96 = Boost +X (<-- Could be useful!)
97 = Echo
98 = Delay
99 = Pause
9A = Mute
9B = Fader
9C = Balance
9D = Midrange
9E = Video
9F = CD
A0= Tape
A1 = FM1
A2 = FM2
A3=AM
A4=FMASM
A5=Radio
A6=voice in
A7=insert disc
A8=remove disc
A9=Loading Disc X [B9, 5C, 2, 9, 0, 0, A9, 3C, 1]
AA=Ejecting Disc X
AB= Ejecting all
AC=Load all
AD=Please Wait...



Send [B9, 5C, 2, 9, 0, 0, AD, 1] wait, send [B9, 5C, 2, 9, 0, 0, 96, 2, 6] :turbo:
User avatar
Tazzi
Posts: 3456
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
cars: VE SS Ute
Location: WA
Contact:

Re: TECH2 Logging

Post by Tazzi »

VL400 wrote: B9, 5C, 2, 9, 0, 0, <Task>, 1, 1
Soo those look like all the "tasks" are used for the radio/fm stuff.. think thats what the 9 represents. Looks like the CD is table "1" as seen in previous logs... So I guess can also try all those tasks again but using 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 ect.
Might find one to link to main screen info.. guessing it will "Blank" the screen when correct, just just insert text.
Hopefully its not a matter of finding the correct mode since mode 2 could just be preloaded info.
VL400 wrote: Send [B9, 5C, 2, 9, 0, 0, AD, 1] wait, send [B9, 5C, 2, 9, 0, 0, 96, 2, 6] :turbo:
LOL
Your Local Aussie Reverse Engineer
Contact for Software/Hardware development and Reverse Engineering
Site:https://www.envyouscustoms.com
Mob:+61406 140 726
Image
User avatar
Tazzi
Posts: 3456
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
cars: VE SS Ute
Location: WA
Contact:

Re: TECH2 Logging

Post by Tazzi »

Made some progress..
Image
Sent this: B9,7E,2,0,0,0,00,00,20
Just need to fill in some blanks after 20 and whatever word you want... although still not the big bold text as seen in the vid...
Im guessing thats on another table?... I didnt do much on anything else (got lucky on first shot), but Im thinking there will be another table allowing similar things to this although in the middle of the screen.


And managed to turn this option on.. demon possession? or dripping blood?
Image
Was like that on ever screen when changing the 20 to 1. Goes away after refreshing although was weird!

And just for you VL... :turbo:
ImageImage


Also.. excuse the bad pics.. so much glare in the car!
Your Local Aussie Reverse Engineer
Contact for Software/Hardware development and Reverse Engineering
Site:https://www.envyouscustoms.com
Mob:+61406 140 726
Image
Post Reply