How to test a Hilux 4wd Tacho ?

Wiring diagrams and questions
User avatar
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:57 pm
Location: Adelaide SA

Re: How to test a Hilux 4wd Tacho ?

Postby gibbo » Wed Sep 18, 2019 4:30 pm

Yes , that is what it is for. :D

Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:18 pm
Location: Jurien Bay, W.A.

Re: How to test a Hilux 4wd Tacho ?

Postby OZ38 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:55 pm

gibbo wrote:Yes , that is what it is for. :D

Thanks gibbo,
I have ordered one now.
I gather I will only need the Tacho Signal Booster Adapter ?

Wont also need the Universal Tach RPM Signal Adapter will I ?

Cheers

Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:18 pm
Location: Jurien Bay, W.A.

Re: How to test a Hilux 4wd Tacho ?

Postby OZ38 » Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:00 pm

Wiring & anything Electrical not being my strong point.

But is this Tacho Signal Booster Adapter just a everyday 30 or 40 amp relay ?

JRP-Tacho-Booster-Pinout.png

User avatar
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:37 pm
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Vic

Re: How to test a Hilux 4wd Tacho ?

Postby Biggvl » Sat Sep 21, 2019 7:18 pm

No it isn’t, where’s that from???
According to chemistry, alcohol is a solution...

User avatar
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:57 pm
Location: Adelaide SA

Re: How to test a Hilux 4wd Tacho ?

Postby gibbo » Sat Sep 21, 2019 9:26 pm

No it isn't a relay, it just happens to be in a relay style case.
I think you will only need the booster. as you will have a easy to find tacho signal, on a v6 engine.

The tacho adapter would be for an engine that does not have a straight forward tacho output. That's a new product since I posted that first link, I haven't seen it before.

Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:18 pm
Location: Jurien Bay, W.A.

Re: How to test a Hilux 4wd Tacho ?

Postby OZ38 » Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:27 pm

Biggvl wrote:No it isn’t, where’s that from???

Just Race Parts.

Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:18 pm
Location: Jurien Bay, W.A.

Re: How to test a Hilux 4wd Tacho ?

Postby OZ38 » Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:38 pm

gibbo wrote:No it isn't a relay, it just happens to be in a relay style case.
I think you will only need the booster. as you will have a easy to find tacho signal, on a v6 engine.


Yes there is a signal off the DIS/DFI (Pin E) that normally goes to the tacho on the V6 commys, also has a Tacho signal test point along that section of loom.
The JRP Signal Booster has pin 87 as "From ECU 3~16v Digital" Would this Tacho signal from the Pin E of the DFI be the same thing as required "From ECU 3~16v Digital" ?

gibbo wrote:The tacho adapter would be for an engine that does not have a straight forward tacho output. That's a new product since I posted that first link, I haven't seen it before.

Ah ok, well I found them both from your earlier two links to JRP.

User avatar
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:57 pm
Location: Adelaide SA

Re: How to test a Hilux 4wd Tacho ?

Postby gibbo » Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:08 pm

OZ38 wrote: Yes there is a signal off the DIS/DFI (Pin E) that normally goes to the tacho on the V6 commys, also has a Tacho signal test point along that section of loom.
The JRP Signal Booster has pin 87 as "From ECU 3~16v Digital" Would this Tacho signal from the Pin E of the DFI be the same thing as required "From ECU 3~16v Digital" ?


Yes thats it

gibbo wrote:The tacho adapter would be for an engine that does not have a straight forward tacho output. That's a new product since I posted that first link, I haven't seen it before.


OZ38 wrote: Ah ok, well I found them both from your earlier two links to JRP.


Oh yeah your right, I had forgotten about that second one, it's been a while. :D

Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:18 pm
Location: Jurien Bay, W.A.

Re: How to test a Hilux 4wd Tacho ?

Postby OZ38 » Sun Sep 22, 2019 8:36 pm

Thanks for your help gibbo. :-)

Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:18 pm
Location: Jurien Bay, W.A.

Re: How to test a Hilux 4wd Tacho ?

Postby OZ38 » Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:15 pm

Quick Feed Back.
Arrived yesterday. Wired up as per instructions. Turned key & we have a tacho working again.
Wonderful.
Need to now get around to doing a scan to see if it is the same reading as the TP dashboard.

Previous

Return to Wiring

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 1 guest