Installing VT EcoTec in Triumph TR7

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
User avatar
Posts: 9984
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: Installing VT EcoTec in Triumph TR7

Postby Holden202T » Sat Nov 26, 2016 8:49 am

it should be the same as a VX L67 I did for firebug, theres two fan relays in the main engine bay fuse box, from memory that fan wiring goes straight from the battery to the fans and through those fuses, then the relays switch the ground side of the circuits.

Posts: 3203
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: Installing VT EcoTec in Triumph TR7

Postby Dylan » Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:44 am

Those 3 plugs supply power and signals to and from the ecu. Use a multi meter or trace them back to there pins on the ecu. I remove them all together and have them connect near the ecu under the dash on the car heaps neater. Mount the new fuse box under the dash to unless it's being integrated. I've done a couple of VT looms.

There will be a few wires from them not needed to.

Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Installing VT EcoTec in Triumph TR7

Postby Stag76 » Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:43 am

I 'm using an oil filter mounting from an American car that uses the L36 engine (Camaro or Cadillac) as the Holden one fouls the "K" member in the conversion I'm doing.
This relocates the oil pressure switch, and it now will not clear the power steering pump pulley.
There is room to clear a small generic type switch, but I don't know if it will work.
The standard switch connects with 3 pins, but there appears to only be a single wire connecting it to the loom.
Does anybody understand the workings of this switch, and can it be replaced with a simple single-wire generic type.
Attachments
2020-06-09 16.05.47.jpg
2020-06-09 16.05.47.jpg (29.27 KiB) Viewed 205 times

Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:43 am
Location: Western Queensland

Re: Installing VT EcoTec in Triumph TR7

Postby brindo » Wed Jun 10, 2020 7:04 am

Can’t help with the switch. But is there room to remote mount the original switch using some rated hose and fittings?

User avatar
Posts: 6572
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: Installing VT EcoTec in Triumph TR7

Postby vlad01 » Wed Jun 10, 2020 10:16 am

It's just a SPDT switch basically. On pre ecotec it is wired to both do oil light and backup for the fuel pump, on ecotec it's just wired as an oil light so you can just get a universal oil switch that fits with the same/similar pressure range.


The alternative is you can plug the hole and relocate the original switch to the block, which is just on the side/front of the block above the PS pump, there is a plug there, but also another plug inside the same hole.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

User avatar
Posts: 9984
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: Installing VT EcoTec in Triumph TR7

Postby Holden202T » Wed Jun 10, 2020 11:38 am

can you not fit a 90 degree fitting in there or something like that ?

the alternative too is run an actualy gauge and then dont worry about the light wire ?

Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Installing VT EcoTec in Triumph TR7

Postby Stag76 » Thu Jun 11, 2020 7:16 am

I tried a 90 degree fitting, but still fouled the PS Pulley, then Remote mounting was
to be my next option.
If I can't get a switch small enough to clear the pulley, I think the best option now
is to relocate the switch and plug the existing hole.

Thanks for the replies. :thumbup:

Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:58 am
Location: Padstow NSW

Re: Installing VT EcoTec in Triumph TR7

Postby Charlescrown » Thu Jun 11, 2020 5:27 pm

As vlad01 said the switch is used for fuel pump relay backup (this system is the only one I have seen it on) and you only need to use one wire for the oil pressure switch so use the generic that you say fits and just delete the added function of the complicated GM oil pressure switch. I can look up the colour of the single wire you need if you don't have a wiring diagram.

Previous

Return to Holden ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests