Data logger for P01 and P59

They go by many names, P01, P59, VPW, '0411 etc . Circa 1999 to 2006. All VPW OBD2 PCMs.
User avatar
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:13 pm

Data logger for P01 and P59

Postby NSFW » Tue Nov 26, 2019 6:28 pm

I want to do a lot more to this, but it basically works so I figure it's time to invite people to play with it.

Just unzip the attached zip file, run PcmLogger.exe, pick your device (it supports the same devices as PCM Hammer), pick a log profile (two are included), and click Start Logging.

Future features:

- faster logging
- support 4x (or at least give it a try)
- a list of parameters that you can pick from, so you won't have to edit the .profile files in notepad

The .profile files are in JSON format, which seemed like a good idea at the time... but it's rather cumbersome. Hopefully it's mostly self-explanatory if you keep a few things in mind:

The "Address" property is the PID. In the future I hope to support reading non-PID values directly from memory, hence the name Address.
DefineBy should probably stay 1 (unless you're working on reading from memory).
ByteCount depends... Look at the OBD2 PID lists to see which PIDs are 1-byte and which are 2-byte.
Each parameter group must have 6 bytes total. No more, no less.
The Conversion Expression needs to have an "x", and division slashes need to be escaped with a backslash. So for example "x/100" is written as "x\/100". That's the most annoying part.
I might change the format of the .profile files to be easier to work with in the future.
Attachments
LoggerPreview001.zip
(1.86 MiB) Downloaded 27 times
Please don't PM me with questions about tuning or flashing - start a thread instead. Thanks!

Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:50 am

Re: Data logger for P01 and P59

Postby bubba2533 » Wed Nov 27, 2019 12:41 am

OMG reading from a memory address will be HUGE! So excited for this!

Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 9:52 pm

Re: Data logger for P01 and P59

Postby Scott68B » Thu Nov 28, 2019 1:56 am

Wow, can't wait to try it!! I know it's early in the development cycle but what plans do you have in the future for it?

Thank you for doing this!!!!

Scott

Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 9:52 pm

Re: Data logger for P01 and P59

Postby Scott68B » Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:13 am

It works! Using the Allpro in Windows 10. Dumb question, how do you save the log?

Posts: 187
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: Data logger for P01 and P59

Postby Gampy » Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:20 am

I suspect
Right Click over the text
Select: Select All
Right Click over the selected text
Select: Copy

Then paste into your favorite text editor.

Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 9:52 pm

Re: Data logger for P01 and P59

Postby Scott68B » Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:34 am

Copy and paste what? :)
Attachments
PCM Logger Debug Screen.jpg
PCM Logger Debug Screen.jpg (128.77 KiB) Viewed 135 times
PCM Logger Status Screen.jpg
PCM Logger Status Screen.jpg (72.71 KiB) Viewed 135 times

Posts: 187
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: Data logger for P01 and P59

Postby Gampy » Fri Nov 29, 2019 6:27 am

I have nothing to log, I do not have the logger available at this moment, I am only going by his (NSFW) typical competent work. I may be wrong!

However, If you hover the mouse over the Text box where the Data is ("Requesting row" or "Intake Air Temperature") and Right Click it should give you a 'Context Menu', from that menu you can 'Select All' ... (Or copy if it's already selected)

[edit]
Tested, works as expected.

Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 9:52 pm

Re: Data logger for P01 and P59

Postby Scott68B » Fri Nov 29, 2019 10:14 am

Gampy wrote:I have nothing to log, I do not have the logger available at this moment, I am only going by his (NSFW) typical competent work. I may be wrong!

However, If you hover the mouse over the Text box where the Data is ("Requesting row" or "Intake Air Temperature") and Right Click it should give you a 'Context Menu', from that menu you can 'Select All' ... (Or copy if it's already selected)

[edit]
Tested, works as expected.


Thank you! I appreciate it!

Posts: 187
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: Data logger for P01 and P59

Postby Gampy » Fri Nov 29, 2019 10:22 am

No prob.

-Enjoy

User avatar
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: Data logger for P01 and P59

Postby NSFW » Fri Nov 29, 2019 2:14 pm

I should have said something about this...
Better yet, I should put something in the UI to say something about this...

You'll find log files in c:\users\USERNAME\
Please don't PM me with questions about tuning or flashing - start a thread instead. Thanks!

Next

Return to GM LS1 512Kbyte and 1Mbyte

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests