Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:46 pm

Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby Stag76 » Sat May 23, 2020 9:16 pm

I'm fitting a 3.8 VT Ecotec to a Triumph TR7, and can't work out where the power supply for the ECM, Injectors, coils etc. comes from.
I'm guessing it is via the three plugs near the brake booster, but can't find a pin-out for them.
Does anybody have the pin-outs, or can tell me what to connect up.
I have the VATS disabled.

User avatar
Posts: 6577
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby vlad01 » Sat May 23, 2020 9:59 pm

Its the 6 pin rectangular plug near the booster. Red with black stripe is constant power from battery, red is switched power via relay via the ignition switch. Make sure they are fused.

There is more there like fan, temp gauge, oil light etc. I haven't got an ecotec diagram but I'm pretty sure the colours are mostly the same from the earlier models.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

Posts: 399
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Castlemaine, Vic

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby pman92 » Sun May 24, 2020 9:39 pm

Yep it's the 3 plugs near booster

Check out the diagram I posted here
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=5982
VR-VY Holden BCM Simulator: LINK
Ford Smartlock Bypass Module: LINK

Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby Stag76 » Tue May 26, 2020 7:54 pm

Thnx for that.

Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby Stag76 » Mon Jun 22, 2020 7:29 pm

I'm connecting the EcoTec wiring from the three plugs near the firewall, and trying to work out
which way the Fuel Pump Wire and Fan Switch wire work.

I thought the ECU would ground these wires, but the wiring diagrams seem to indicate that it
supplies power to switch the relay.

Do they supply 12v to switch the relays, or do they ground the relay switch circuit to turn it on.

User avatar
Posts: 6577
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby vlad01 » Mon Jun 22, 2020 7:36 pm

Not sure about ecotec but earlier engines have the fan relay grounded by the ECU and the fuel pump is powered by the ECU.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

User avatar
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby j_ds_au » Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:17 pm

vlad01 wrote:Not sure about ecotec but earlier engines have the fan relay grounded by the ECU and the fuel pump is powered by the ECU.

Also true for VX, so probably all Ecotecs.

Joe.

User avatar
Posts: 5273
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby delcowizzid » Mon Jun 22, 2020 11:09 pm

Fuel pump should be the only positive switched output if I remember correct
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby Stag76 » Tue Jun 23, 2020 2:06 am

All good...thanks for the replies.

Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Wiring for VT Ecotec Engine Power

Postby Stag76 » Wed Jun 24, 2020 8:19 pm

The Auto gearbox that I have doesn't have a Neutral/Safety switch, and there doesn't look to be enough
shaft protruding from the case to fit one.
It's a 4L60E box, with a 7HDD sticker, and 18 cast into the case, supposedly removed from a VS Commodore.
Did all 4L60E boxes have a Safety/Neutral switch, and are there different types for the earlier/later boxes.

The wiring loom I have has provision for a Neutral/Safety switch....is this going to cause problems?

Next

Return to Holden ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests