Converting To Delco ECU From Carby Or Other Injection Systems
ae86cesar
cars: ae86 toyota corolla 1984
2006 scion tc

new to the site

Post by ae86cesar »

hi everyone,
i am very interested in converting my car to a programmable delco ecu

i have read the getting started guide from vl400 but i still have a few questions...

my car is a 1984 toyota corolla (ae86) with a 1.6L 4age i want to turbo this engine in the near future and my question is...

do i need a specific delco ecu from a certain car for my aplication?
where can i get such ecu (im in the U.S.)
what do i need to tune and install this ecu into my car?

i will continue to read maybe ill answer my own questions.. sorry in advance if my questions are dumb im new to this and i dont want to spend money on super expensive standalone ecus
Jayme

Re: new to the site

Post by Jayme »

perfect ECU for you to use thats available in the states would be the delco 1227165 and VL400's OSE $12P software (this is capable of reading a 2 bar map sensor for your turbo application). wire it up like the 1227808 in the holden commodore or camira, I can send you a wiring diagram if you require.

first hurdle is what kind of crank triggering to you have? reluctor or hall effect? this will determine what ignition module you need to use.
ae86cesar
2006 scion tc

Post by ae86cesar »

thanks i would apreciate it, now my car is afm not map would this make a difference or do i just convert to map
Holden202T

Post by Holden202T »

i would convert it to map!
ae86cesar
2006 scion tc

Post by ae86cesar »

ok the delco 1227165 is from a 87 camaro z28 v8 and possibly also found in a s-10 small pickup i think i can find this easily at my local wrecking yard, im just going to research more before i pull one out

as for the ignition how do i figure out what kind i have, all i know is that the 4age motor i have is that its inline 4 and has a air flow meter (converting to map) tps and a distributor driven by the exhaust camshaft i believe