Help to fix my MAFless tune

General Tuning Questions And Discussions
pman92
cars: HZ One Tonner
VE Ute

Help to fix my MAFless tune

Post by pman92 »

Hey guys,

I've got a friend with a 2001 VU ute LS1. They purchased it some time back with an OTR intake and MAFless tune already installed.
They have been complaining it doesn't always idle very well and smells like its running rich. We cannot find anything else wrong other than it running rich - to the point of fouling plugs sometimes.
I have noticed it will never enter closed loop - or at least never has when I've had the scan tool on it. The O2 sensors are working but are pegged at 850mV when its idling.

I've got no prior experience tuning LS stuff, but since I have an OBDXpro I purchased some time ago with the intent to have a play around (but have never have) I thought I would try and read it with PCMhammer. I always assumed it would be tuner locked but to my surprise it wasn't and PCMhammer read an entire bin without issue.

The OS is 1290005 which from searching is a commercial EFI live OS so I wont post the bin here (unless someone can confirm there's no issue doing that).

I did find a 1290005 tunerpro XDF searching online. Looking at it with my untrained eye and reading online I've noticed a few things:

- The closed loop enable coolant temp vs IAT table + LTFT enable scaler are set to 140 degrees.
- The LTFT and STFT IDLE flags are both unset / disabled
- The open loop AFR table contains non-stoich values (lambda 1.04) below 100 degrees and 60kPa - which I'm assuming will also prevent closed loop.
- The values in the main VE table are all way higher than I expected - it would be cruising at about 150-160% VE. This doesn't make sense to me unless the injector flow rate or something is off.