EEC-V bin file and SAD

Ford information and tools can be found here
ATPCR
cars: Many Fords from 1954 to 1999

EEC-V bin file and SAD

Post by ATPCR »

I'm very new to working with Ford PCMs and my major interest at this time is EEC-V. I may at some point, help my brother tune his '88 5.0 that has had some minor changes.
I understand that it takes many years to develop a definition file for a particular bin. I want to start out just being able to identify PATS (American Ford term for the security system) and also be able to turn off the rear o2 sensors. At work, we are installing later model EFI powertrains in antique, classic, 1965 through 1970 Mustangs. None of the will have catalytic converters or the PATS system.
I have a bit of a clue as to how to find PATS within the bin file. This is from a guy south of me here in the US. He has helped me a lot. Also, DWS (Cory) has helped me too, figuring out and getting use to the Scanmatik 2 Pro that I'm using with PCMFlash module #29.
Here is the clue to PATS but I'm not sure where to look in a bin file that has been processed through SAD. Any pointers would be appreciated.
ADDED: 45 minutes later. VID block parameters are located in the same place in all binaries. If I understand correctly, I'm going to have to go through the steps to create the beginning of a definition file. For me this will be an exercise within itself. Also, should I start with a 256k bin "read" that is in the correct bank order before running it through SAD? Also, I'm only working with 1998 to 2003 bin files.
PATS code 3XFF13.PNG
PATS code 3XFF13.PNG (2.24 KiB) Viewed 6523 times
In my toolbox, I have a Moates Quarterhorse to use with TunerPro RT software for real time tuning. I have access to Cory's bin swapping software.
I have a Scanmatik 2 Pro for OBD2 port access and to use with PCMFlash software. I recenty used Tvrfan's SAD program.