efi 440 help

Converting To Delco ECU From Carby Or Other Injection Systems
valiantsofttop
cars: kwakka z750 klr650
rangie wwith 440 project

efi 440 help

Post by valiantsofttop »

gday everyone, im new to efi and panning on making it work on my 440 when its eventually back together. hopefully around the 550-600fw hp mark

ive been doing a bit of reading on the internet for a long time now and most of it goes over my head and i get sick of it then come back a few months later.
can someone correct me if im wrong with anything here.
vn/vp model
the delco 808 is batch fired (all injectors at once?)
fuel is calculated by a multiplication of a constant(is that the kinj rate) x cyl size x manifold pressure?
due to being batch fired can 16 injectors be wired in place of the original 8 or will that fry something (ie 16 injectors at half the size of the original 8)

can anyone confirm or deny my following theory please
theory is to use a stock vn ss tune on the 440 for initial purposes, with injectors slightly larger than required for safety (ie not lean).
please note this is a theory only with no proof to back any of it up, im not even sure of the factory injector size, just using it for calculation purposes

i realy dont want to have to get a complete re map done before i know im completely happy with the setup of everything else. the computor uses cyl size as one of the calculations so i wonder how much that changes the amount of fuel going in.
so 5L is 5000cc (5000/8= 625) ie each cly is 625cc
440+40 is 7.3 (7300/8=912.5)
so a 440 is (912.5/625=1.46) 1.46 times the size of a 5L 0r simply 5x1.46=7.3

so if we take the original injector size (read somewhere that its 24lb but dont quote me on on it)
24x1.46= 35.
so because the delco system uses only manifold pressure (it doesnt actually measure flow it calculates it using cyl size) then on a stock vn ss tune a 440 can run 35lb injectors.