JAYCAR Speedo Corrector old model

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
Posts: 333
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:21 pm

JAYCAR Speedo Corrector old model

Postby vp304 » Fri Aug 27, 2021 1:35 pm

Dug out these 2 jaycar speedo correctors i may have used in the past around 10 years ago on a vn v8 and vp v8
Now i am trying to get one of them to work on my vr v6 auto. After changing my diff to 3.9 ratio
I only have instructions for the smaller one which i think is the newer one

I have probed c12 speedo signal from pcm that goes to dash tho i cannot get speedo to work with either of the correctors ?

Does anyone have any tips or used any of them on their vr auto cars ?

I done some googling and found is a newer jaycar model speedo corrector that people say does not work also.
Cant find much on these older models as i think they are from around 2008 or so maybe
Attachments
240180211_1628855477320816_7081783831233871005_n.jpg
240180211_1628855477320816_7081783831233871005_n.jpg (119.8 KiB) Viewed 571 times

Posts: 3033
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:31 pm

Re: JAYCAR Speedo Corrector old model

Postby immortality » Fri Aug 27, 2021 4:36 pm

I thought I'd kept the instructions safely tucked away but I can't find them :(

I do remember though, after wiring it up you had to drive for a bit and wait for the box to pick up the signal (LED would start flashing) and then make the necessary adjustment using the dials. I can't remember what the jumper settings were but if it worked on your old VN/VP than I would assume it would work on your VR.

Posts: 3033
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:31 pm

Re: JAYCAR Speedo Corrector old model

Postby immortality » Fri Aug 27, 2021 4:58 pm

Maybe you need to pull the jumper and drive a short distance and then replace the jumper on the board. Sorry, Just don't remember the full instructions.

Posts: 1483
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:58 am
Location: Padstow NSW

Re: JAYCAR Speedo Corrector old model

Postby Charlescrown » Fri Aug 27, 2021 4:59 pm

Ring Jaycar. I have found them very helpful in the past.

Posts: 675
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: JAYCAR Speedo Corrector old model

Postby 'quipt4it » Fri Aug 27, 2021 6:12 pm

I used a 'calibration box' years ago. Not from Jaycar (No.1 for kits lol), but it played havoc with my auto shifts.
I re-worked the trigger wheel for a much better result :D

Posts: 333
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:21 pm

Re: JAYCAR Speedo Corrector old model

Postby vp304 » Fri Aug 27, 2021 9:29 pm

Thanks guys might try give jaycar a call or email

immortality i had it working on vn and vp with t700 but last time i used them was on a vp with t56 and i had dramas so the jumpers could be anywere all over the place .
Plus today in frustration i had the car running up on the jack with both and was swapping jumpers around on both and could not get any kind of speed up on my dash cluster :(

User avatar
Posts: 5483
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: JAYCAR Speedo Corrector old model

Postby delcowizzid » Fri Aug 27, 2021 10:57 pm

What's the project kit number on the board the instructions will be online
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

Posts: 333
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:21 pm

Re: JAYCAR Speedo Corrector old model

Postby vp304 » Fri Aug 27, 2021 11:36 pm

I got the model no and tried to google it but the jaycar page come up and said discontinued item and no link or pdf install manual was there
Attachments
240483169_375805157487996_7756312654886396419_n.jpg
240483169_375805157487996_7756312654886396419_n.jpg (69.93 KiB) Viewed 507 times

Posts: 333
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:21 pm

Re: JAYCAR Speedo Corrector old model

Postby vp304 » Fri Aug 27, 2021 11:48 pm

Maybe in luck if i get time tomorow may try this. Found on another forum from 2007. If works will let you guys know for anyone else that digs one up like me and wants to use it again

Calibration time. This is all in the instructions, but I'll post it up anyway as theres a few hints along the way.
1) make sure all your connections are in place (I forgot the plug on the gearbox as I had removed it earlier - I got to step 5 before I relised :roll: )
2) Set S1 switch to 2
3) Set S2 to A
4) Install LK2
5) Go for a quick drive - the speedo will not work as the corrector is now working out what type signal its getting
6) Once the speedo has set itself the led will start to flash.
7) Set S2 to 0
8) Set S1 to 0
9) Install LK3 - you shouldnt have to goto LK4 or LK5 - Go for a drive to make sure the speedo works (if not change to LK4 or 5, but that shouldnt be needed)
10) To slow the speedo down all you do now is set S1 and S2 to the required correction percentage. S1 will set in 1% increments where as S2 will add 10% increments. It is possible to change the speedo by up to 99%.
11) However I wanted to slow the speedo down so with the power to the corrector box on set S2 to F and wait for the LED to flash twice. Then set S2 back to the required position (0 for me)

Posts: 3033
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:31 pm

Re: JAYCAR Speedo Corrector old model

Postby immortality » Fri Aug 27, 2021 11:55 pm

That does sound very familiar, sounds like you're on the right track.

Next

Return to Holden ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests