Segment Swap utility

They go by many names, P01, P59, VPW, '0411 etc . Circa 1999 to 2006. All VPW OBD2 PCMs.
User avatar
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 3:27 am

Re: Segment Swap utility

Postby joukoy » Wed May 06, 2020 3:33 pm

0.11.0

All reported bugs should be fixed now.
If you find combination where checksum is still read from file when defined "display only", please send xml & bin so I can test.

User avatar
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 3:27 am

Re: Segment Swap utility

Postby joukoy » Wed May 06, 2020 5:10 pm

joukoy wrote:0.11.0

All reported bugs should be fixed now.
If you find combination where checksum is still read from file when defined "display only", please send xml & bin so I can test.

Note: "extractedsegments.xml" created with previous version is not compatible.
Close app, remove folder "segments" and extract all again.

Posts: 262
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:20 pm

Re: Segment Swap utility

Postby kur4o » Wed May 06, 2020 6:56 pm

Checksum display is good and tab flickering is gone.

I found a quick bug in the segment swap window.

When OS is selected less chance works only with 1/0/x combo. When you try range and size with less chance there is a crash message index out of bounds.

I got that crash 8 message once again out of nowhere.

Will test for more bugs.

Edit:
There is one more issue eith 1/0/x. some random OS is marked with 1 but, that but either the range or size matches any of the segments. Not sure about the exact logic but there might be some bug in there.

User avatar
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 3:27 am

Re: Segment Swap utility

Postby joukoy » Wed May 06, 2020 7:02 pm

kur4o wrote:Checksum display is good and tab flickering is gone.

I found a quick bug in the segment swap window.

When OS is selected less chance works only with 1/0/x combo. When you try range and size with less chance there is a crash message index out of bounds.


I can't reproduce this.
Did you remove & re-generate segments?
Program was closed when removing old segments?

Posts: 262
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:20 pm

Re: Segment Swap utility

Postby kur4o » Wed May 06, 2020 7:43 pm

I removed the segments with a folder delete.

Now I did it again and the issue somehow disappeared.

I guess some remnants remained. Can`t remember if the program was closed or opened when I did the delete the first time.

I am not sure did you tried to fix the eeprom extraction, but there are still empty files and only part of segment range is extracted.

User avatar
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 3:27 am

Re: Segment Swap utility

Postby joukoy » Wed May 06, 2020 7:46 pm

kur4o wrote:I removed the segments with a folder delete.

Now I did it again and the issue somehow disappeared.

I guess some remnants remained. Can`t remember if the program was closed or opened when I did the delete the first time.

I am not sure did you tried to fix the eeprom extraction, but there are still empty files and only part of segment range is extracted.


Can you tell me any example of file, where eeprom extract failed?
Send file/link, please.

User avatar
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 3:27 am

Re: Segment Swap utility

Postby joukoy » Wed May 06, 2020 9:00 pm

Segment extract is made with assumption segments have number stored in them.
But this may not always be the case (eeprom don't have)
So: I will modify extract & swapping to use order number from XML-file for segment folders.
Requires segments-folder emoval again.

Posts: 262
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:20 pm

Re: Segment Swap utility

Postby kur4o » Wed May 06, 2020 9:15 pm

You`d better stay with the numbering system. It is so much better than segment names.

I am not sure should we add eeprom data segment swap. It is now extracted on the main folder of the OS, just make it full extraction range, rather than. If you have marked 2 search ranges, only one of them is extracted.

On p01-p59 it only affects it, when the special p01-p59 eeprom checkbox is marked. Than it is extracted with empty file.

Posts: 262
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:20 pm

Re: Segment Swap utility

Postby kur4o » Wed May 06, 2020 10:47 pm

I did some more testing.

Fixing the p01-p59 xml, made the eeprom data to be extracted correctly.

I am not sure how to extract full range of eeprom data, now only one of the search range is extracted. For example if you define 2 ranges
4000-5fff and 6000-7fff only one of them is extracted.

User avatar
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 3:27 am

Re: Segment Swap utility

Postby joukoy » Thu May 07, 2020 1:06 am

0.11.1

Now extracting 4000-8000 if p01-p59 eeprom is selected.

Extract with "replace" creates duplicates to extractedsegments.xml, will be fixed in next version.

PreviousNext

Return to GM LS1 512Kbyte and 1Mbyte

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest