shift points

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:14 am

shift points

Postby Kevspec » Wed Mar 20, 2019 6:25 pm

i am trying to stretch the gears out a little more is there anyway or formula to work it out as i want to rev to 6k for gear changes at wot, i have tried playing with speed vs tps and 1st gear still changes early. obviously testing and data logging will be the go but dont think mr police man will like me doing runs up and down the fwy

User avatar
Posts: 5315
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: shift points

Postby delcowizzid » Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:22 pm

Look in the scalers a/t 1-2 forced shift threshold set kmh higher
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:14 am

Re: shift points

Postby Kevspec » Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:39 pm

I already changed that but that's only for locked in 1st I thought which now doesn't go into 2nd automatically which used to shit me

Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:43 am
Location: Western Queensland

Re: shift points

Postby brindo » Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:23 pm

Could you cut and paste the shift points from power mode? Won’t get you to 6k but should be a little higher than normal.

User avatar
Posts: 4327
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:23 am

Re: shift points

Postby The1 » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:24 pm

If it's for VS-VY just change it in the shift tables. Other than that there is a Max RPM per gear setting in VT and up.

Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:14 am

Re: shift points

Postby Kevspec » Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:06 am

Shift table in pwr mode still have same wot tables and I've tried changing it up made no real difference

Posts: 2761
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:31 pm

Re: shift points

Postby immortality » Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:03 am

There are online calculators you can work out speed Vs rpm and gear or get creative and make your own spreadsheet in excel.

You can't just change the shift tables, you need to change all the other tables relating to shift points. We did it on my mates VS with a cam so it does work. I think his goes to about 6500rpm.

Posts: 1179
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:20 am
Location: Geelong, VIC

Re: shift points

Postby yoda69 » Thu Mar 21, 2019 3:54 pm

If you post up your bin I’ll have a look, as there are numerous naming used in different xdfs I’ll try and find the matching one.
There is a max rpm and max speed that forces upshift, sometimes both are not defined.

Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:14 am

Re: shift points

Postby Kevspec » Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:45 pm

yoda69 wrote:If you post up your bin I’ll have a look, as there are numerous naming used in different xdfs I’ll try and find the matching one.
There is a max rpm and max speed that forces upshift, sometimes both are not defined.



ive pmd you

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6392
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: shift points

Postby antus » Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:56 pm

Any chance we could keep this in thread? it looks like there isnt that much information about this available, and it'd be good to get it out in the open. Mostly it comes up when people are running speedo correctors (I know thats not the need here) but they put them after the ecu and lie to the ecu to about speed to avoid these types modifications. A before an after example would be great. Im sure there are a lot eyes on this thread.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Next

Return to Holden ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests