ALDL cable gives random data

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:44 pm

ALDL cable gives random data

Postby weezlebub » Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:52 pm

I have VY commodore and I built 2 transistor ALDL to serial cable and using 1.05 adx file from this site. when I use tuner pro rt it connects and makes tune on car but all the data showing through the software is all random and its not indicating any data errors. is this common with 2 transistor cable do i need to build max232 cable instead or maybe shorten wires from the ODBD port theyre about 30cm long at the moment. I tried reconnecting a lot of times but it always shows random data

User avatar
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby j_ds_au » Tue Dec 31, 2019 8:44 am

weezlebub wrote:I have VY commodore and I built 2 transistor ALDL to serial cable and using 1.05 adx file from this site. when I use tuner pro rt it connects and makes tune on car but all the data showing through the software is all random and its not indicating any data errors. is this common with 2 transistor cable do i need to build max232 cable instead or maybe shorten wires from the ODBD port theyre about 30cm long at the moment. I tried reconnecting a lot of times but it always shows random data

I presume you have a V6, otherwise the VY PCM/ECU doesn't talk ALDL. You might try using the OSE Flash tool here to read the cal and check if you get consistent cal data back, that will validate your ALDL interface.

Joe.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6030
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby antus » Tue Dec 31, 2019 8:48 am

Yep your not the first person to have trouble with the 2 transistor circuit. Im not sure if it works at all. :( there are some other threads about it but with no successful resolution.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:44 pm

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby weezlebub » Tue Dec 31, 2019 5:58 pm

thanks didn't have any luck with flash tool it was just waiting for heartbeat and wouldn't connect. Have a max232 so will try build a cable with that instead.

User avatar
Posts: 5097
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby delcowizzid » Wed Jan 01, 2020 4:49 pm

Vx vy is tricky they need very good timing and filtering in the cable to get a connection due to the limited time between packets from all the modules. Best off just buying the aldl cable off here. I've tested even the cheap ttl to USB boards and they are to slow on vx
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

User avatar
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby j_ds_au » Thu Jan 02, 2020 5:32 am

delcowizzid wrote:Vx vy is tricky they need very good timing and filtering in the cable to get a connection due to the limited time between packets from all the modules. Best off just buying the aldl cable off here. I've tested even the cheap ttl to USB boards and they are to slow on vx

Yeah, timing is tricky via USB. Sometimes tweaking the USB latency setting helps. Other USB drivers installed like com0com can also cause problems.

OTOH, if wb is using a real serial port, timing tends to work out better.

Joe.

Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:44 pm

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby weezlebub » Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:03 am

Unfortunately i am still having the same issue after building max232 cable. :hmm:
I use the schematic http://www.techedge.com.au/vehicle/aldl8192/8192hw.htm.
I left out resistors r2 and r3 cause my vy series 1 v6 doesn't have those pins on the car. Is that right?
Wondering if i got wrong setting somewhere

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6030
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby antus » Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:22 am

The diode on pin 12 used to be backwards on that diagram and i think still is. Try flipping it around. What usb interface are you using? Many cant do 8192 baud.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:44 pm

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby weezlebub » Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:03 pm

Ok I will try diode flip. I'm using a serial port on the dock of my dell laptop. It has 9600bps as default speed in device manager but i assume it is able to use 8192bps if software requests it?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6030
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby antus » Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:18 pm

If its old enough that its a genuine 16550 chip behind it then it will. If its a built in usb to serial then itll be no different to needing a compatible usb adapter.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Next

Return to Holden ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 6 guests