ALDL cable gives random data

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby j_ds_au » Sat Jan 04, 2020 5:04 pm

weezlebub wrote:Unfortunately i am still having the same issue after building max232 cable. :hmm:
I use the schematic http://www.techedge.com.au/vehicle/aldl8192/8192hw.htm.
I left out resistors r2 and r3 cause my vy series 1 v6 doesn't have those pins on the car. Is that right?
Wondering if i got wrong setting somewhere

Right, those two resistors aren't needed, but I'd connect pin 10 to ground.

Joe.

Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:44 pm

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby weezlebub » Sat Jan 04, 2020 8:56 pm

antus wrote:If its old enough that its a genuine 16550 chip behind it then it will. If its a built in usb to serial then itll be no different to needing a compatible usb adapter.


Ok thanks its not an old laptop and it has a smsc lpc47n237 io controller in the dock for the com port . I think that my problem then

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6276
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby antus » Mon Jan 06, 2020 11:29 am

Yep i'd think so. If you really want to use your own cable you could try getting a genuine FTDI usb to serial as they are known to work with stock settings out of the box.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:44 pm

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby weezlebub » Mon Jan 06, 2020 7:53 pm

antus wrote:Yep i'd think so. If you really want to use your own cable you could try getting a genuine FTDI usb to serial as they are known to work with stock settings out of the box.


I ordered a cheap FT232RL USB to TTL on ebay. I read you just tie the RX and TX and works at 8192bps. Probably not genuine though so not sure but read on here someone who had one working at 8192bps. I'm not really interested in tuning just want to be able to check codes.

User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ALDL cable gives random data

Postby j_ds_au » Tue Jan 07, 2020 8:06 am

weezlebub wrote:
antus wrote:Yep i'd think so. If you really want to use your own cable you could try getting a genuine FTDI usb to serial as they are known to work with stock settings out of the box.


I ordered a cheap FT232RL USB to TTL on ebay. I read you just tie the RX and TX and works at 8192bps. Probably not genuine though so not sure but read on here someone who had one working at 8192bps. I'm not really interested in tuning just want to be able to check codes.

Non-genuine = wasting your time. If the converter was cheaper than a genuine chip, then it's too good to be true.

Also, while some have made it work, you're asking for trouble tying the RX and TX lines together. You should use the resistor & diode just like in the previous circuit.

Joe.

Previous

Return to Holden ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests